Week 7: LaTeX style and outline

I wasn’t as productive this week as I had hoped to be. I was feeling under the weather on Thursday and Friday, which cut into my research time. I didn’t make any progress on reading more papers, and I spent more time than I had expected integrating the latest (if you can call something from 2000 latest) LaTeX thesis style changes from the bowels of bertha into the public Google Code repository. The good news is that I don’t expect to have to spend much more time on the thesis style, though it would be good for someone to go through it once in comparison with the latest style guide from grad division. Mark Stillwell has indicated a willingness to do that update.

I’m hoping to have at least 20 new items for my literature review by the end of the semester, so given the number of weeks left, I should be reading papers at a steady rate of at least 2 per week. That’s going to be a recurring item on my weekly todo list.

The other area I need to work on is collecting all the various potential sensors into one list so I can start concentrating on which ones I will be using for my research.

Planned items from last week:

  • Read 4 papers from literature review list
    • No progress
  • Look at websites with related functionality from list
    • No progress
  • Add publications from PET workshop paper to BibTeX
    • No progress
  • Write up outline of final tech report
    • My final tech report is my proposal, so filled in the chapters with an outline
  • Fill in more parts of research portfolio

Other accomplishments this week:

Hours worked: 7 (target: 15 hr)

Plans for coming week:

  • Read 2 papers from literature review list
    • Understanding mobility based on GPS data
    • Learning Transportation Mode from Raw GPS Data for Geographic Applications on the Web
  • Start building table of possible sensor inputs
  • Add publications from PET workshop paper to BibTeX

Pointers to work products:

Cool links:

  • None
Leave a Reply

